The travel award is given in memory of Celine Palatsky, who served as the Associate Museum Librarian of the Thomas J. Watson Library of the Metropolitan Museum of Art from 1971 to 1999 and as ARLIS/NY Treasurer for fourteen consecutive years. Celine grew up in France, and as a cataloger and reference librarian at the Met, she handled books in a number of languages, including Greek and Latin. She was a dedicated professional, serving this chapter from 1979 to 1993 and participating in local, regional, and national meetings. Celine was an avid and enthusiastic traveler, enjoying the arts, fine food, and adventure.


The amount and number of awards varies based on chapter resources and location of the annual conference. The ARLIS/NA New York Chapter Travel Award was initiated in 1993 and renamed the Celine Palatsky Travel Award in 2000.

A special fund in support of the Celine Palatsky Travel Award has been established. We encourage members to donate to promote conference attendance and professional development of our community.


Apply for the 2018 Celine Palatsky Travel Award for the ARLIS/NA Annual Conference in New York City


The ARLIS/NA New York Chapter is pleased to offer the Celine Palatsky Travel Award to support attendance at the ARLIS/NA 46th annual conference, to be held February 25th-March 1st, 2018 in New York City. Since the conference is local, we will make several awards covering the cost of registration; this is a great opportunity for students or new members who would like to become more involved in the organization. For more information about the conference, please visit: For more information about the Celine Palatsky Travel Award, please visit: 


• Must be a member of both ARLIS/NA and ARLIS/NA New York Chapter. 
• Must not have full institutional support. 
• Must not be an ARLIS/NA New York Chapter board member. 
• Must not have won this award in the past five years. 

How to apply: 

Send your resume or CV and a letter of application by email (as Microsoft Word or PDF attachment) to John Lindaman ( Your letter of application should explain your interest in art information professions and describe how you expect to benefit from your attendance at the conference. If you receive partial institutional support, specify the amount. Please include the name and contact information of one professional reference. 

Other details: 

The application deadline is December 15th, 2017. 

Notification of winner will be by January 1st, 2018. 

The award winners must submit an article for the ARLIS/NA New York Chapter website about their experience at the national conference before March 15th, 2018. 

Please contact John Lindaman ( with any questions. 

ARLIS/NA New York Chapter 2017 Celine Palatsky Travel Award Committee: 
Arielle Cohen, Librarian, Gagosian Gallery 
John Lindaman, Manager of Technical Services, Thomas J. Watson Library, Metropolitan Museum of Art 
Emily Walz, Librarian, Art & Architecture Collection, New York Public Library

Recipients of the Celine Palatsky Travel Award

2017: Emily Walz | conference report

2016: Sarah Hamerman | conference report
2015: Walter Schlect and Millicent Mahana Rose Fullmer (Fort Worth, TX) | conference reports
2014: Lindsay King and Jina Park (Washington, D.C.) | conference reports
2013: Holly Hatheway (Pasadena, CA)
2012: Meg Donabedian (Toronto, Ontario)
2011: Teresa A. Slobuski, Suzanne C. Walsh (Minneapolis, MN)
2010: Deirdre Donohue, Rosemary K. Davis, Clayton Kirking (Boston, MA)
2009: Maria Oldal (Indianapolis, IN)
2008: Cheryl M. Costello (Denver, CO)
2007: Karyn Hinkle (Atlanta, GA)
2006: Jill E. Luedke (Banff, Alberta, Canada)
2005: Lauren Edison (Houston, TX)
2004: Henry Baker, Jessica Cline, Shalimar Abigail Ordonez Fojas, Rita Nannini, and Billy Parrott (New York City, NY)
2003: Christina Peter (Baltimore, MD)
2002: Rebecca L. Kranz (St. Louis, MO)
2001: Helen Kim (Los Angeles, CA)
2000: Rebecca Wilkins (Pittsburgh, PA)

ARLIS/NY Travel Award
1999: Christina Gjertsen (Vancouver, British Columbia)
1998: Ilene Magaras (Philadelphia, PA)
1997: No Award Given This Year (San Antonio, TX)
1996: Jeffrey Stephens and Paolina Taglienti (Miami Beach, FL)
1995: Tammy Wofsey (Montreal, Quebec)
1994: Chris Sala (Providence, RI)
1993: Created in 1993, no awards granted until 1994