• Home
  • Celine Palatsky Travel Award

Apply now for the Celine Palatsky Travel Award! Applications are due on January 15, 2021. 

The ARLIS/NA New York Chapter is pleased to offer the Celine Palatsky Travel Award to support professional development including attendance at the 49th annual conference, Convergence = Collaboration + Créativité, hosted in Montreal, Canada in May, 2021.  

ARLIS/NA New York’s executive board recognizes that this year, with COVID, an emphasis on “professional development” and candidates are encouraged to apply for opportunities outside of the annual conference. 

This is a great opportunity for students and new members who would like to become more involved in the organization, and we encourage you to apply!

For more information about the conference, please visit: http://arlismoq.ca/arlis-2021/ .


  • Must be a member of both ARLIS/NA and ARLIS/NA New York Chapter.
  • Must not have full institutional support.
  • Must not be an ARLIS/NA New York Chapter board member.
  • Must not have won this award in the past five years.

How to apply: 

Send your resume or CV and a letter of application by email (as Microsoft Word or PDF attachment) to Samantha Deutch (deutch@frick.org). Your letter of application should explain your interest in art information professions and describe how you expect to benefit from your attendance at the conference or other professional development opportunities. If you receive partial institutional support, specify the amount. Please include the name and contact information of one professional reference.

About the Celine Palatsky Travel Award

The travel award is given in memory of Celine Palatsky, who served as the Associate Museum Librarian of the Thomas J. Watson Library of the Metropolitan Museum of Art from 1971 to 1999 and as ARLIS/NY Treasurer for fourteen consecutive years. Celine grew up in France, and as a cataloger and reference librarian at the Met, she handled books in a number of languages, including Greek and Latin. She was a dedicated professional, serving this chapter from 1979 to 1993 and participating in local, regional, and national meetings. Celine was an avid and enthusiastic traveler, enjoying the arts, fine food, and adventure.

The amount and number of awards varies based on chapter resources and location of the annual conference. The ARLIS/NA New York Chapter Travel Award was initiated in 1993 and renamed the Celine Palatsky Travel Award in 2000.

A special fund in support of the Celine Palatsky Travel Award has been established. We encourage members to donate to promote conference attendance and professional development of our community.

Past Recipients of the Celine Palatsky Travel Award

2021: Joey Vincennie (Virtual Conference) 
2020: Janna Singer-Baefsky and Meghan Lyon (Virtual Conference) 
2019: Amye McCarther (Salt Lake City, UT)
2018: Emily Dunne, Kelsey Gallagher, Anna Holbert, Timothy Ryan Mendenhall (New York, NY)
2017: Emily Walz (New Orleans, LA)
2016: Sarah Hamerman (Seattle, WA)
2015: Walter Schlect and Millicent Mahana Rose Fullmer (Fort Worth, TX)
2014: Lindsay King and Jina Park (Washington, D.C.)
2013: Holly Hatheway (Pasadena, CA)
2012: Meg Donabedian (Toronto, Ontario)
2011: Teresa A. Slobuski, Suzanne C. Walsh (Minneapolis, MN)
2010: Deirdre Donohue, Rosemary K. Davis, Clayton Kirking (Boston, MA)
2009: Maria Oldal (Indianapolis, IN)
2008: Cheryl M. Costello (Denver, CO)
2007: Karyn Hinkle (Atlanta, GA)
2006: Jill E. Luedke (Banff, Alberta, Canada)
2005: Lauren Edison (Houston, TX)
2004: Henry Baker, Jessica Cline, Shalimar Abigail Ordonez Fojas, Rita Nannini, and Billy Parrott (New York City, NY)
2003: Christina Peter (Baltimore, MD)
2002: Rebecca L. Kranz (St. Louis, MO)
2001: Helen Kim (Los Angeles, CA)
2000: Rebecca Wilkins (Pittsburgh, PA)

ARLIS/NY Travel Award
1999: Christina Gjertsen (Vancouver, British Columbia)
1998: Ilene Magaras (Philadelphia, PA)
1997: No Award Given This Year (San Antonio, TX)
1996: Jeffrey Stephens and Paolina Taglienti (Miami Beach, FL)
1995: Tammy Wofsey (Montreal, Quebec)
1994: Chris Sala (Providence, RI)
1993: Created in 1993, no awards granted until 1994


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software