• Home
  • News
  • Apply now for 2024 Celine Palatsky Travel Award

Apply now for 2024 Celine Palatsky Travel Award

5 Feb 2024 11:24 AM | Hannah Fountain (Administrator)

The ARLIS/NA New York Chapter is pleased to offer the Celine Palatsky Travel Award to support attendance at the 52nd annual ARLIS/NA conference, POP!, hosted Tuesday, April 2 to Friday, April 5, 2024 in Pittsburgh. One award in the amount of $1,200 will be given to a member of the New York Chapter and ARLIS/NA to be used towards conference expenses, including registration, travel, and lodging.

• Must be a member in good standing with both ARLIS/NA and ARLIS/NA New York Chapter.  
• Must not have full institutional support.  
• Must not be an ARLIS/NA New York Chapter board member.  
• Must not have won this award in the past five years.  

How to apply:
Send your resume or CV, a letter of application, and the name and contact information of one professional reference by email (PDF preferred) to Emily Walz (emilywalz@nypl.org), Chair of ARLIS/NA New York.  Please include "Celine Palatsky" in the subject line.

Your letter of application should describe your interest in the conference and how you expect to benefit from your attendance. If you receive partial institutional support, specify the amount. The deadline for application is 6:00 PM EST Friday, February 9.

Applications will be reviewed by a committee consisting of the Chair of ARLIS/NA New York, the previous year's recipient, and one chapter member in good standing. Applicants will be notified by Friday, February 15, 2023.

About the Celine Palatsky Travel Award
The ARLIS/NA New York Chapter Travel Award was initiated in 1993 and renamed in 2000 in memory of Celine Palatsky, who served as Associate Museum Librarian of the Thomas J. Watson Library of the Metropolitan Museum of Art from 1971 to 1999 and as ARLIS/NA New York Treasurer for fourteen consecutive years. Celine grew up in France and handled books as a cataloger and reference librarian at the Met in numerous languages, including Greek and Latin. She was a dedicated professional, serving the chapter from 1979 to 1993 and participating in local, regional, and national meetings. 

We encourage members to donate in support of the Celine Palatsky Travel Award to promote professional development of our community through conference attendance.

2024 Celine Palatsky Travel Award Committee

Emily Walz (Chapter and Committee Chair), The New York Public Library Wallach Division of Art, Prints & Photographs

Arthur J. Fournier (Committee Member), Arthur Fournier Fine & Rare

Alejandra Perez (Past Winner), Brooklyn Museum Libraries & Archives

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software