• Home
  • News
  • Candidates for the 2020 ARLIS/NA NY Board

Candidates for the 2020 ARLIS/NA NY Board

12 Nov 2019 9:02 AM | Michael Carter

The Nominating Committee is pleased to nominate the following candidates for positions opening on the ARLIS/NA NY Board:

For Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect: Samantha Deutch. Samantha Deutch is the Assistant Director of the Center for the History of Collecting at the Frick Art Reference Library and a member of the Digital Art History Lab. She holds Masters Degrees in Library and Information Science from Rutgers University, and in art history, 18th and 19th Century Spanish Art, from Binghamton University. She is the creator and editor of the Center’s online Archives Directory for the History of Collecting in America for which she was awarded the Worldwide Books Award for Electronic Resources 2011 by the Art Library’s Society of North America. Most recently, Ms. Deutch contributed an article “Transforming Research Methodologies: The Frick Art Reference Library’s Collaborative Approach,” for the publication Collecting and Provenance: A Multi-Disciplinary Approach, edited by Jane Milosch and Nick Pearce, published by Rowman & Littlefield, 2019. She is currently serving as Chair of ARLIS/NA’s Documentation Committee and as co-chair of the Society’s new publication initiative, an annotated Digital Art History Directory.

For Treasurer: Scott Davis. Scott Davis is the Cataloging & Reference Librarian at Sotheby’s Institute of Art. He holds an MA from the Institute of Fine Arts, NYU and an MLIS from The Palmer School, LIU. He is a contributor to the Grove Dictionary of Art, has presented numerous concerts and performances at art and music venues throughout the United States, and has most recently co-curated the exhibition Jamie Isenstein: Universe of Logs at the Institute of Fine Arts (2018).

For Membership Coordinator (Member-At-Large): Meghan R. Constantinou. Meghan Constantinou has served as Librarian of the Grolier Club since 2011 and has been a club member since 2013. As the head librarian, she manages all aspects of the library and performs curatorial duties as well. She received her MLIS from Pratt Institute in 2012, MA in Art History from the University of Delaware in 2010, and BFA in Painting from Syracuse University in 2001. Her research interests include the history of private collecting, women’s book ownership, provenance studies, and the book arts. She joined ARLIS/NA as a library student at Pratt, participated in the ARLIS/NA mentor program, and served as Student/Professional Development Liaison for ARLIS/NY in 2012-2014. She looks forward to working with the New York chapter again!

Members of the 2020 Nominating Committee are Michael Carter, Anna Helgeson, and Eric Wolf. The slate is now open for review by the Chapter membership. Please submit any comments to Nominating Committee chair Michael Carter at Michael.Carter@metmuseum.org by November 27, 2019. Per the Chapter Bylaws (Article IV, section C--available here: https://www.arlisny.org/bylaws), if no comment is received, the slate will be considered elected by acclamation.

Thank you for your participation!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software