• Home
  • News
  • Candidates for the 2021 ARLIS/NA NY Board

Candidates for the 2021 ARLIS/NA NY Board

14 Dec 2020 4:41 PM | ARLIS Librarian (Administrator)

The Nominating Committee is pleased to nominate the following candidates for positions opening on the ARLIS/NA New York Board: 

Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect: Giana Ricci 

Giana Ricci is the Librarian for the Fine Arts at New York University. She received her MA in Art History from NYU's Institute of Fine Arts and her MLIS from the Palmer School of Information at Long Island University through a dual-degree program. Before entering her current position at NYU in July of last year, Giana has held positions at the Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives, the Brooklyn Museum Libraries and Archives, and the Frick Art Reference Library. Some of her interests include artists' books, diversity, and equity in the field of art librarianship, and the intersection of arts and social justice. 

Secretary: Cindy Wolff 

Cindy Wolff received her Bachelor of Science in Education from Emmanuel College (Boston, MA) and received her Master's in Library and Information Science from Queens College, CUNY. She has worn many hats in various library settings, mostly in technical services and collection management. She has also worked in Pratt's School of Information in administrative and advisory capacities and taught a knowledge organization course. Her art library experience includes working at MoMA and Pratt Institute. She is currently working as Processing Administrator in the Technical Services Department of Pratt Institute. Cindy has been a member of ARLIS/NY since 2002 and previously served on the Board as Member-At-Large for Membership. She is happily looking forward to serving as Secretary. 

Programming Coordinator (Member-At-Large): Missy Brown 

Missy Brown received her MSLIS from Pratt Institute in 2009 and has worked at Pratt since 2013, currently as Assistant Professor and Cataloging and Metadata Librarian. Prior to coming to Pratt, Missy worked as a Project Coordinator at the Brooklyn Museum on a 3-year grant-funded IMLS (Institute for Museum and Library Services) project where she oversaw the digitization of historical documentary photographs of Brooklyn. When not cataloging, Missy can be found making raku ceramics and zines. 

Social Media Coordinator: Mitsuko Brooks 

Mitsuko Brooks is a third-semester graduate student pursuing a Masters of Library and Information Studies and a Certificate in Archives and Preservation of Cultural Materials at Queens College. She was awarded The American Library Association Spectrum Scholarship (2020), Queens College's Graduate Student Endowment Scholarship (2019), and was a student council member of Queens College's Asian/American Center (AAC) (2019). She holds an M.F.A. in Painting & Drawing from UCLA and a B.F.A. from Cooper Union School of Art. Mitsuko is a Part-Time Reference Librarian at Cooper Union Library and has interned at Asian American Art Centre's Artist Archive. Her interests are in serving Asian American organizations and the digitization of art archives. 

Student/Early Professional Liaison: Abigail Walker 

Abigail Walker is the Serials Receiving Assistant at New York University's Institute of Fine Arts Library, where she contributes to various technical and public services. Before her work in libraries, she worked in museums and conservation labs. Abigail graduated in May with her MSLIS from Pratt Institute and is particularly interested in critical information literacy and approaches to reference and instruction in art libraries. 

News Editor: Allison Grillo 

Allison Grillo received her Bachelor of Arts in English from the University of Utah and received her Master's in Library and Information Science from Pratt Institute. She is a reference and research librarian for the law firm Herrick Feinstein, and works closely with members of the firm's Art Law department. Before that she worked at Practising Law Institute contributing to their ongoing digital archives project.

Members of the 2020 Nominating Committee are Samantha Deutch, Billy Kwan, and Emily Walz. The slate is now open for review by the Chapter membership. Please submit any comments to Nominating Committee chair Samantha Deutch at deutch@frick.org by December 31st. Per Chapter Bylaws (Article IV, section C--available here: https://www.arlisny.org/bylaws), the slate will be considered elected by acclamation if no comment is received. 

Thank you for your participation! 

Samantha Deutch 
Chair, 2020 Nominating Committee 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software